Putting Changes Live

Introduction

Changes you make to atfinity's configuration are tallied up before going live. This allows you to have a final look at the changes you have made, before implementing them.

At the same time, users can continue starting processes and creating cases, without seeing anything about the application change until you make your work go live.

The tally of the changes you made, is always visible at the bottom of the configuration menu. In grey, the total number of changes queued to go live; in orange, the number of warnings, and in red the number of errors in your changes.

Click on any of these, to get the overview of your changes, divided over three sections:

Errors

The overview kicks off with a list of errors. These have to be fixed, before the changes listed there can be put live.

Warnings

One step over are the warnings. Warnings give you tips on which steps you can take to design a better process.

A warning will appear if you configured a process rule, without attaching it to any process. atfinity's warning will signal that you need to attach a process rule to a process if you want to ensure the rule is triggered.

A design with warnings will not cause any problems that prevent the process from being executed.

Example:

You have configured the process rule 'Account must have at least one Person'. Nothing is necessarily wrong with the composition of the rule itself. But you did not add it to any of your processes. It just sits idle, taking up space without adding any functionality to the application.

This is a situation atfinity will warn you about under 'Warnings'. Your unused process rule will not cause any problems in the running of the application. But it doesn't add anything to it either, so the design is not optimal.

Changes

Next, you will see an overview of all the changes you have made to the configuration, which can be put live without causing errors.

Column

Description

ID

The ID of the element that has been changed.

Event

CREATE: the change creates an element.

UPDATE: the change updates/changes an existing element.

DELETE: the change removes an element.

Model

The type of element that is changed, for example: Document, ProcessRule, Translation, TaxonomyOption

Title

The title of the changed, created, or deleted element.

Changed fields

What fields the change applies to.

Put Live or Revert

In the top right corner of the Changes screen, you have three options for what to do next.

Button

Effect

Force Recalculation

When you change things, but don't see the changes appear yet, this button serves as a trigger. The system reloads and shows recalculated lists.

Revert All Changes

This cancels all the changes you see in the overview, and leaves the configuration untouched.

Put Live

This will implement all the changes, altering the configuration.